|Tuesday, September 29, 2020
You are here: Home » News » Local News » Belgium bans travel to Spain EXCEPT for Tenerife
  • Follow Us!

Belgium bans travel to Spain EXCEPT for Tenerife 

The Belgian Government announced todat that the entire Spanish territory, except for the island of Tenerife, will be on its red travel list this Friday, for which it disallows traveling to Spain and will require a quarantine and a PCR test for all travellers to come back from this country.The Belgian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, which is in charge of managing this list, said the new measures come into force as of September 4th at 4pm.

The other Canary Islands will remain in the orange zone, so it is recommended not to travel to it and do quarantine and a PCR test upon return.
Belgium already disallowed travel and required quarantines for passengers who had passed through regions such as the Community of Madrid, the Basque Country, the Balearic Islands, Aragon and Navarra, as well as the province of Barcelona, ​​among many other Spanish areas.
The list had been expanding during the month of August while an increasing number of new cases of coronavirus was reported in Spain.
The Belgian system for ordering travel to and from abroad during the health crisis consists of a color code managed by the Foreign Ministry.
Non-essential travel to the red zones is prohibited and travel;ers coming from these areas must undergo a PCR test and isolate themselves for fourteen days upon arrival in the country.
These obligations become recommendations for territories in the orange zone, while those in the green zone do not require any action beyond the usual precautions.