|Tuesday, August 11, 2020
You are here: Home » Daily News » La Laguna honours its sporting greats in special ceremony
  • Follow Us!

La Laguna honours its sporting greats in special ceremony 

La Laguna council, through its Autonomous Sports Organisation (OAD), received more than 50 athletes from the muni-cipality to recognise their merits.

The act was chaired by sports councillor and president of the OAD, Idaira Afonso; the first deputy mayor, Rubens Ascanio; and environment councillor and vice president of the OAD, José Luis Her-nández.
Idaira Afonso congratulated all the attendees for their achievements, saying “they are an example for other people and athletes” and that they become “referents that fly the flag very high”. Likewise, he highlighted sports practice as an opportunity to “learn and strengthen other values such as respect, teamwork, to-lerance and equality.”
For his part, Rubens Ascanio congratulated the efforts of the athletes, hoping that the number will increase this year and promising a significant investment to provide re-sources.
In the karate discipline, Irina López, champion of the Canary Islands and third in Spain in the Junior category, was recognised.
In rhythmic gymnastics, Lucía González Padilla (bronze medal in the National Cadet Base Cup) and Ico Botanz (bronze medal in the Spanish Championship of the modality of Cinta and together with her team, champion of Spain for three consecutive years, plus one Queen’s Cup in 2018).
One of the sports with greater presence in this reception was BMX, following the participation in the Championship of Spain in different categories. David Acosta (runner-up 7-8 years), Adriana Pereza (champion 9-10 years), Sergio Rosa (champion Alevín), Garoé Hernández (third Alevín), Samira Fernández (runner-up) were recognised, as well as Raúl López (third Infant), Daniel Martín (Cadet champion) and Francisco Barbuzano (Pro Master champion).
The BMX T-Riders Club runners recognised were: Hugo Cano Campillo (7-8 years champion), Daniel Fernández (Beginner champion), Gabriel Carrena (Children’s runner-up) and Jesús García (40-49 years champion). In addition to the BMX Laguna Club runner, David López (champion 30-39).
In archery, Beatriz Pérez (champion of Spain in Sala 2017 and silver medal in the Canarian championship), Yanira Pérez (gold and bronze in championships of Spain Sala y Aire Libre 2019), Antonio López (bronze) received a mention and María López (gold in the Atlantic Trophy).
In the weightlifting discipline, the athletes received were Atenery Hernández, Delioma Hernández, Andrea Beautell and Juana Pérez, champions of the National League of Honour Division, for the seventh time in a row, and champions of the Queen’s Cup for the tenth time. Also Víctor José Galván, Miguel Terán, Abraham Tabares, Eduardo Pérez, Luis Biagioni and Acorán Hernández, champions of the National League of Honour Division and third parties in the Copa del Rey. All of them are national and some also international medalists.
Finally, taekwondo athletes were recognised: Andrea Suárez (23 medals, 15 gold between 2018 and 2019, and champion of the Canary Islands and runner-up of Spain in 2019, and third in Europe in 2018, who has participated in 13 opens international, being champion in six of them between 2018 and 2019, and in the Paris Open Open G1) and Juan Coello (11 medals between 2018 and 2019, Insular champion and third in Europe in 2018, who has participated in nine international opens, being champion in five of them between 2018 and 2019).
Also honoured were Marta Báez diploma (12 medals between 2018 and 2019, champion of the Canary Islands in two categories, and participant in seven international opens), Elena Martín (12 medals between 2018 and 2019, champion of the Canary Islands U21 and third of Spain), Nere Martín (12 medals, Tenerife Senior Champion two consecutive years and three of his gold medals are from international championships), Laura Ramos (six medals, Tenerife champion in 2019 and two golds in international championships) and Axel Alain (five medals, Senior Canary champion and gold medal in international Open). The medalists in regional, national and international championships Nayeli Dias, Sheila Delgado, Pablo Hernández, Julia Rodríguez and Raúl Cruz were also received.