|Thursday, May 6, 2021
You are here: Home » Sports News » Tournament proves fair play success
  • Follow Us!

Tournament proves fair play success 


UD Las Palmas lifted the trophy during the 20th Adeje Soccer Tournament. The Mayor, José Miguel Rodríguez Fraga congratuled all the teams who took part and said plans were already being made for next year.

The Gran Canaria visitors proved the outright winners after beating CD Tenerife two goals to one in the final. Roberto Jesús Melián Bolaños and Jesús Quintana García scored the winning goals in the first half, with Sergio Simón López finding the net for the eventual runners-up.

Third place was gained by CD El Sobradillo who beat CD Puerto de la Cruz (fourth) by three goals. Tenerife Sur and CD Ofra were fifth and sixth.

During the closing ceremony, David González Gutiérrez of CD Tenerife was named best striker, best player of the tournament went to Ismael Said Athuman González of UD Las Palmas and Pedro David Ramirez López and Neftalí Rocha Pérez, both of UD Las Palmas, were the best goalkeepers.

Throughout the two days, volunteers helped the police to ensure a safe tournament which also honoured the principles of the island’s Fair Play campaign.