|Sunday, February 25, 2018
You are here: Home » Columnists
  • Follow Us!

Columnists

Garachico: The principal port in the Island of Tenerife

‘The Principal Port in the Island of Tenerife’ – it’s hard to believe that that was once Garachico, and yet it was true for about 200 years. In 1588 Garachico had 400 houses, which made it twice the size of Santa Cruz. The description comes from a book written by an Italian military engineer, Leonardo de Torriani. In 1587 ...Full Article

The Muse by Jessie Burton

On a hot July day in 1967, Odelle Bastien climbs the stone steps of the Skelton gallery in London, ready for her luck to change. She has been employed ...Full Article

A boy built of blocks by Keith Stuart

Meet thirty-something dad, Alex. He loves his wife Jody, but has forgotten how to show it. He loves his son Sam, but doesn’t understand him. Something has to change. ...Full Article

I’m Travelling alone by Samuel Bjork

Oslo detectives Holger Munch, a math nerd who dotes on his six-year-old granddaughter, and Mia Krüger, a brilliant profiler are on the trail of a murderer, whose first victim, ...Full Article

Baby doll by Hollie Overton

For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, Baby Doll is the most tense thriller you will read this year. Held captive for eight years, Lily has ...Full Article

The Carnaval is over but did it live up to expectations?

Puerto’s Carnaval is over and was quickly forgotten as the sun began to shine. This year I am almost ashamed to say that I managed to miss most of ...Full Article

The Iriarte family and La Casa Iriarte

In Puerto de la Cruz there is a traditional Canarian house called La Casa Iriarte (The Iriarte House) where, unsurprisingly, the Iriarte family lived. This family produced some illustrious ...Full Article

The Trouble with goats and sheep by Joanna Cannon

Part coming-of-age story, part mystery, this is a quirky and utterly charming debut about a community in need of absolution and two girls learning what it means to belong. ...Full Article

Lie with me by Sabine Durrant

The most talked about psychological thriller. It starts with a lie. The kind we’ve all told – to a former acquaintance, for some reason, we feel the need to ...Full Article

Mad Girl by Bryony Gordon

It’s the snake in her brain that has told her ever since she was a teenager that her world is about to come crashing down. It’s caused alopecia, bulimia, ...Full Article
Page 12 of 117« First...1011121314...203040...Last »