|Sunday, February 17, 2019
You are here: Home » Sports News » Scene set for La Laguna’s annual New Year’s Eve race
  • Follow Us!

Scene set for La Laguna’s annual New Year’s Eve race 

page 38 scene

The annual tradition of the San Silvestre race on New Year’s Eve in La Laguna is all set for more success.

There are already around 500 registered entries for this 36th edition organised by the local council’s sports department .There is a limit of 3,000 runners for this spectacular event which always attracts a big crowd. All those interested in participating in the San Silvestre Lagunera 2017 can formalise their registration, until 20:00 hours on December 21st, “online”, through the website www.oadlaguna.com. To be part of the last test of the year, entrants must pay the amount of eight euros. This figure includes technical shirt, chip, back number and accident insurance.

The race starts at 6pm along the traditional urban circuit in the historical centre of Aguere, on a route of 5,700 metres, with the start and finish in the Plaza de la Concepción. Agoney Diaz (17.23, Bikila) and Marta Arnay (19.49, CEAT) won the San Silvestre Lagunera 2016. The two winners secured their first win in the traditional event. Some 3,000 runners took part and this is expected to be matched on the 36th occasion coming up.