|Friday, October 19, 2018
You are here: Home » Sports News » Athletes praise “beautiful” Santa Cruz as marathon breaks more records
  • Follow Us!

Athletes praise “beautiful” Santa Cruz as marathon breaks more records 

Cristóbal Ortigosa from Malaga and Brit Sheena Logan were crowned the winners of the Santa Cruz Sport Zone 2017 International Marathon in an edition that will go down in the record books.

The event notched up the highest number of participants so far, 3,650 athletes, and also exceeded the mark of different nationalities, with competitors from 55 different countries.

The Mayor of the city, José Manuel Bermúdez was in charge of delivering the prizes to the winners with councillor for sports, Verónica Meseguer, the ninth deputy mayor and councillor for economic promotion, Alfonso Cabello and councillor for tourism of the Cabildo of Tenerife, Alberto Bernabé.

Ortigosa burst the time that Miguel Ángel Vaquero had established last year in the 42 kilometres. The Malaga athlete had warned in the preview that he was going to start shooting with everything from the beginning and he did so.

He immediately left his rivals behind in the first round and gained a substantial advantage over his most direct rival, the Toledo Julio Rey.

In the end, the Spaniard reached the finish line stop-ping the clock at 2.27.46 hours while Julio Rey came home second (2.43.12) and Markus Mey completed the podium (2.51.27).

“It was an incredible expe-rience, with an impressive atmosphere. I loved this race in Santa Cruz and I hope to repeat it next year,” said Ortigosa, who explained that “the circuit is hard, but it is very beautiful and I was clear that in order to win I had to shoot to the top from the beginning and that’s what I’ve done. ” Sheena Logan also took no prisoners in the race of 42.195 kilometres, coming out very strong and facing only the German Sanka Reimers as her nearest rival. After passing through the first point of reference, Logan had already opened a gap and the distance would continue to increase gradually. Finally, she crossed the finish line with a record of 3.01.39, lowering the best historical record of the Santa Cruz Marathon.

Reimers stopped the clock in 3.11.36. Sonia Prieto arrived behind them.

Pole Maciek Miereczko won the distance of 21 kilometres and also beat the Half Marathon record by coming home first (1.11.02), ahead of Patrick de Vos (1.12.42) and Liviu Critoru (1.13.15). Huberney Jiménez was fourth and was the first of the local athletes, stopping the clock on 1.15.01 and leading the classification in the Master category.

José David González, from Educere Sport, was the champion of the Canary Islands in the men’s category. González finished his race with 1.16.32 and outstripped the second classified in almost one minute and a half. The silver medal went to the member of the Trivalle, José David Sedeño (1.17.58), while Yeray Sierra (Vallivana) was third with 1.18.26.

Marta Arnay also gave an authentic exhibition in this distance. The CEA Tenerife 1984 runner crossed the line crossed the finish line with 1.18.37. In second was Laura van den Beucken almost six minutes later (1.24.02). Rosa Fontes completed the podium (1.33.34). If the previous distances were an enormous spectacle, the test of the eight kilometres was frenetic.

The Bikila did not give up, finishing with five of their athletes in the top seven. New signing Jonay González was unstoppable and set a new record for the race of 22.09 minutes. Carlota González (28.44) achieved a new victory in this distance ahead of Carolina Fernández (29.05) and Ana Boullón (29.29).